Wednesday, December 30, 2009
Stricter Policies
That aside, I am going to invite more respectable people and exile the rest. To keep the family aspect of PMK alive, I am going to request that all members show professional respects and refrain from anything but during events. As for their personalities, they must save it for outside of the event. Shake hands or bow, does not matter. Show respect to your opponent. That is the law.
Tuesday, January 27, 2009
Anime/Manga Perfection
Whatever's just bold is from the person I quoted. Anything that is typed in otherwise is not.
Here is, from me, Emperor Ing, the person you all don't know or care about, the definitive list to make a great anime that will be aired on Toonami, or whatever replaces Toonami since that went down. If you follow these steps, you will a series, a manga, games, movies, everything~!!
AND THESE ARE MY RESPONSES!!!
~Rock-Dash AKA: DokenMaster on Court-Records
1. Make the main character an angsty teenage boy with long hair:
This step is a surefire, because it connects to your audience the fastest. The broodier the better, people! This character does not have any parents, or at least any that play an important role in the story, he is a loner, a "lone wolf", so to speak. He often stares off into the distance for periods of time, furrowing his brow about the upcoming trials he must face! This character is perfect for any series, whether it be comedy, action, or even sci-fi!
Not necessarily. An angsty main character gets annoying. It's like making Sasuke the frickin main character of Naruto. Bad idea unless this 'angsty' character actually has a valid reason like amnesia as in Casshern: SINS. Perfect for a more mature anime because it gets the plot-demanding audience going. However, angsty main characters will inevitably meet some sort of downfall due to a fatal flaw. If you're going to put angst, leave it to less than 5% of their personality. A main character needs a strong will, some bits of recklessness, and the classic "don't give two shits about what happens to *insert person here*" attitude. The asshole type of main character generates laughs, but doesn't necessarily mean it'll be a great one. Chances are, he's a damn softie underneath. Then there's the overly-serious character who simply does things to be logical and intelligent, etc. The Lone Wolf idea isn't half bad, nor is it half good. You have to remember that a Lone Wolf is a common idea amongst artists. Then they scrap that idea for newer characters. If you're going to make a Lone Wolf character, make sure he stays that way. Some manga do that and they turn out very well.
Example: Trigun. (Vash wanders by HIMSELF. Fights by HIMSELF. Gets stalked by OTHERS.)
2. Have a completely random character, most likely a female, to illicit laughs from your audience!:
The perfect foil for your main character is the attractive female lead that is completely koo-koo out there! She often says things that bring a great sense of shock to the cast, often making them fall over themselves, jaws agape and wide-eyed, and she has the ability to mysteriously inflict great damage to a male character is that male character happens to look upon her lustfully whilst she is in a compromising position (which if you want a successful series, you are going to want a lot of those!). When she does get angry, a freak glandular problem causes her head to grow five times its normal size, and she will yell at the male character, with her limbs flailing back and forth not unlike a hummingbird. She is the risk-taker, the "adventurous" one, the one with the big smile to contrast with the main's gloom. You can't have a series without her!
Can't be completely sexist on this one. Same with the previous note. Not all main/side characters can be one gender each. Makes things seem boring and predictable. Are you basing this on crap you see on the mainstream, or basing it on what anime requires most, which is a great story and even better ways to carry it out that will be done?
Examples: Larry Butz. Kazuma Kuwabara.
3. The amount of females in the series is inversely proportional to the amount of clothing they wear:
This is pretty self-explanatory, but to suffice, the more women you have, they should all collectively have less clothes on. This is a sure-fire way to attract views (it's been statistically proven!), and the more instances of having screen time for these characters, the better for you! Make sure to have a hot bath scene, those are real winners!
Fanservice is useless without a severe limitation of it. Unless you're a pervert looking for an ecchi anime to be your creation, I highly suggest avoiding following this guideline.
Examples: Dear god, look up at least half the anime out there! LEARN!
4. The love interest should blossom slowly, but not too slowly:
Eventually, the main and the female lead will have spent enough time (three episodes) together to develop a bond of love and trust that would put Lord Byron to shame! Make sure you show that with lots of blushes, fitting music, and wistful glances at one another while sleeping. Also, lots of unnecessary awkward social moments putting these two together (like stumbling into aforementioned hot bath scene, or maybe even sleeping in close proximity!) are a sure-fire way to bolster the passions between the two. Pretty soon, what would have amounted to a tepid fan-pairing is now a fully-fledged canon shipping material!
I can agree with the slow love blossoming schtick. But you can get that last bit about fan-voted/supported-pairing and send it straight to hell, because frankly... it matters not what the fans think if the artist cannot collaborate with it and make it a more plausible pairing. It has to make sense. BUT. If they were lovers before, it might make things interesting if you put the skillfully timed reference to their relationship.
Examples: Like I said before. LOOK OUT THERE FOR EXAMPLES.
5. Substance over style for best results:
Animating is a lot of hard work! Luckily, today's animators have realized this and found ways to curtail the process to get more episodes out, and faster. To do this, have closeups of your characters' eyes, so you don't need to animate anything at all while the character gives his sermon or monologue, or soliloquy. Likewise, animating the mouth during a face closeup is a great stylistic choice that everyone should use, because it works. To simulate real animation while two characters are talking, have them stand still, and pan the camera while they talk (mouths animated, you can't be THAT lazy. Or can you? Read on to find out!). Believe me, your teenage girl audience won't tell the difference at all! Also, if one of the "crazy" or "insane" (Read: Totally badass) characters is wearing a mask or a mouth-guard, then you don't need to even animate the mouth at all! So, the more badasses you have, the more money you make! It's fool-proof.
You should be smacked for the self-contradiction. But you present a damn good point, however. I will shoot down that last one about the masked/mouth-guarded badass, because shading will blow your cover. About the close-ups. You do NOT necessarily need to repeat them. But when it will affect the overall outcome of the arc/story, you have to make sure they are animated to look like they would be saying it in real life. Keep in mind that you need to consider the possibilities of mystery when you do so. Oh,and are you sure it's fool-proof? You seem to have touched it so I doubt that, kiddo.
Whoever said filler episodes are a bad idea are obviously blatantly homosexual and quite possible boring. They are ingenious ways to pad out your season, if, let's face it, that totally cool arc you had about the wizard ninja did not end up as long or as cool as you liked it to. So, you will make the audience get a taste of the other side of your characters when they aren't battling the wizard ninja; show them off doing more mundane things. These can include looking for pets, helping out the local village maiden from a totally forgettable weak bad-guy you thought of on your way to McDonalds, or even something as crazy as the male lead trying to show his affection for the female lead, but since he is socially awkward, his male friends "in the know" help him out with advice, with hilarious consequences. By the time these fillers are done, your audience is ready for action, as well as your characters, and we all have our standards lowered after three episodes of puppy shopping.
I find that laughable. Padding out the season is pointless if there is no reference to that specific arc. You will have no memory of that season because the filler did not co-exist with the manga. Because Anime is based on manga, you have to understand that pointless animation will waste time and money. If you want to remain true to the manga, have patience and release episodes sparingly so you can have a cushion to make more when the manga ends.
Another reason: Fillers have no relevance. They are unnecessary and annoying. That's like
saying: OKAY! LET'S WASTE TIME BORING OURSELVES WITH IRRELEVANT CRAP.
Oh, and although I am not gay.. are you homophobic?
6. Have two popular characters? Need an idea? Have them fight!:
This principle is fairly obvious. By making the two main popular male leads fight, you've ensured yourself a good 4-5 episodes right there. You'd have to be one of those losers who don't like fillers or just plain retarded not to pass that opportunity up! The fight should be rife with the techniques mentioned above, namely, the less you show, the better. Let those viewers flex their imaginations! And people think that cartoons are melting kids' brains these days...
Popularity should not matter in a fight as much as the character's essence. Rivalries are based on what type of character they are. Shit like the 'imagination' you mention will cause fanfics. Don't forget that. Are you serious in forgetting how long the fillers were in Bleach, Naruto and Dragonball Z? Don't think we forgot. Because some of us still remember. And if you want to have two popular characters go at it for an epic battle, they had better be on opposite sides on some sort of conflict. Otherwise, you'll be making pointless violence rot people's minds further.
7. When in doubt, have them shout!:
This technique is good for a particularly long series, one that has had dozens of episodes but is no closer to reaching its conclusion than the end of season 1. So, how do you keep people up to speed? Why, the main characters will periodically "shout" main plot points at each other, usually before a big fight, because talking is usually really really boring. If the hero continually shouts at the villain "I will never forgive you!" You can be sure to assume that that villain must have done something pretty nasty. See? It takes care of characterization, too! Just have everyone shout at each other in action-packed episodes, and you'll have a fan-base in no time!
It's cliched. But it works... and it'll get the action started. A long-as-shit discussion while yelling will make the anime boring in an instant. If you want to make the anime with so-called epic fights, they have to be rare. Too many and you have an anime with nothing but pointless fighting. Like Naruto.
There are many more pointers to give out, but I assure you, if you follow these steps to the DOT (that means NO Deviation) I promise that you will have an above-average anime series waiting to win all the awards and be cosplayed by overweight people.
Bullshit on the last statement. You're basing this on mainstream crap that gets the weaboos all excited. Keep to the principles that create the good anime. It'll at least do you some good.
Now. If you are curious as to who this 'Emperor Ing' is, check out the forums at: www.forums.court-records.net and see for yourself. As for me,dealing with this douchebag was easier than backastabbing an unsuspecting Heavy. Now if you all will excuse me, I must attend to my duties. *turns invisible and takes the information*
-Taken from my MySpace Blog-
What gets me is the guy was screwing around. But the counter-points are to be addressed. Please be aware of this. And comment away with your opinions. If you're going to make fun of the guy, just poke fun at the sarcasm. Anyways. Spread points like this around. The anime community has yet to have justice done to it.
Monday, January 19, 2009
Project Akatsuki at Anime Los Angeles
Anime Los Angeles 2009 Masquerade
Skit Entry Number 21 - Shounen Beatdown
Presented by Project Akatsuki
Participants
- Aaron (Red Team's Scout)
- Ben (Hyuga Neji)
- Dana (Bando Mitsuru) (Music)
- Gonzalo (Ash Ketchum)
- Kazu (Mikura Kazuma)
- Koji (Minami Itsuki)
- Kurt (Choreography)
- Juan (Empoleon)
- Justin (Lelouch Lamperouge)
- Max (Choreography)
- Mike (Vizard Kurosaki Ichigo)
- Scotty (Uzumaki Naruto)
- Spenser (Choreography)
The High Quality version is available here. http://www.acparadise.com/ace/vid/4844
Points for originality and for getting the loudest cheers, but that's not good enough for the judges. The Combat Award instead went to a Tsubasa Chronicles cosplayer because they almost fell off the stage. Maybe next time, guys. It's too bad for us that the judges found us "derogatory to anime," even though our entire skit was centered around the violence found in shounen-derived anime, especially since all of our characters were from action series.
Before we got onstage, we also had a sort of photoshoot kind of deal that all of the masquerade participants were allowed to enter. All of our pictures are available here, among many of the other people with skits. http://imagecraft.smugmug.com/gallery/7026550_EkyXa#449930978_Xhr3M
Wednesday, August 27, 2008
Primary Directives of Project Akatsuki
---Reasons/Rights---
Those aside, I intend to make sure we expand our territory for the sake of the community itself, not for my personal ambitious aims, although they both lead to the same thing so I win either way. Considering that we are compromised of those who game, and those who cosplay and the whatnot, I would like to take the opportunity to remind any member that they are given the permission to do things in our name such as represent on the Wangan Midnight arcades, or even in cosplay gatherings. And that if anyone who wishes to join has to have a recommendation and evaluation before joining us. If I cannot trust you to abide by our law, then I cannot allow you. That is the current policy at the moment.
----Expansion/Personell----
Okay, I've had an enthusiastic member report continuously about potential members. I would like all else to try to be just as enthusiastic if not recommend the occasional gamer. However. If I am heavily disappointed (meaning if the possible newbie has no potential whatsoever, or shows signs of complete incompotence and lack of favor within the family), I will question why the recruiter in question recommended such a person. Keep in mind that I put the policy for a reason.
However. If I personally invite someone, it is for a reason. Whether to expand by bunches or to expand simply the teaching personell, which consist of people there to train the newbies in their cars/characters in games. Keep the fact that I will personally train if there is no one to train you in your specific specialty. Same applies to card games.
-----Punishment/Redemption-----
We will eventually be forced to reach a punishment verdict sometime in the future. So to clarify what will happen within our group, we will have people debate on what is best and I will personally deliver the verdict.
However. The same does NOT apply outside unless in special circumstances. If we are summoned to bring a certain person to trial, we must remain undiscriminatory and deliver the verdict with no remorse. I will not allow any regret to be passed upon the verdict, whether or not it affects friends or foes.
------Activity/Gatherings------
Okay, we will eventually host a gathering and the whatnot, so here's the lowdown.
One: We do it and make sure we have a blacklist handy in case it is exclusive.
Two: The gathering must be hosted and supported by various members, does not matter who. It may indeed be hosted in that person's team's name. However. If it is hosted in ours, please see me before doing so... I might be able to make it, and would love to.
Three: Anything that will put us on the spotlight will be reported to me. I do not want us to do something rather irrational only to damage our reputation as a 'family' group. We do things as we see fit, but not if they will damage us.
Four: Anything that will have us taking shifts has to have the required people present. Please take note of my reasons.
-Because we will eventually reach an argument.
--Because we will also need to nip any drama in the freaking bud before it grows insanely.
---Also because we'll be doing that needs immediate personell.
Finally: If we are to take a photoshoot, make sure non-members are excluded if it is a team photo. If it isn't then go right ahead.
---Exceptions:
-If we're including other teams
--If we're including friends
---If there are new members who invite others. (There will be one sole exception to this: Anyone who is blacklisted in the PA 'handbook' will not be allowed.)
---Other Things to Consider---
People will indeed make attempts to destroy PA eventually. So in order to secure our perimeters here, we will be taking percautions in case. Anyone caught attempting such a coup de tat will be dealt with by means of court. I must request that people be honest with one another and make sure that we will not suffer the fate of the ones who were lacking wisdom in their endavors.
~Project Akatsuki Leader,
Kevin "Kid Black Mage" Yasutomi
PS: We're in this as a family. Let us remain united as so.